Goals for 2013

Posted on January 26, 2013

2


Oh hai.

This post is going to be more of a ‘writing myself a check to cash later’ post than an informative, deep-thinking one. Those will come later. Right now, I’m just going to list my resolutions for the New(ish) Year. 2012 had its high points (Cabo San Lucas and good grades in the fall being the highlights), but I’m determined to make 2013 a year to top the last couple.

Here’s the plan:

  • Repeat performance with grades. I pulled off a higher-than-3.o average with classes last semester, raising my overall GPA past 2.5 (FINALLY). I’m closing in on my last year of college and have no margin for error. This semester I’m taking seven classes (two of which are online and really just for fun and bumping my GPA). Straight A’s might be asking a bit much from myself, but I’m hoping to trim out the C’s.
  • Promotion at work. I don’t really plan on leaving my position at the Hilton any time soon, since job hunting during a stressful scholarly period sounds like a bad time, but it’d be nice to get recognition for my efforts in the form of some sort of promotion. I just got a raise, so we’ll see what else the year brings.
  • Put a stopper on the car problems. I love my first car, and it fits my predilection for class, but it’s been a pain in the ass all through 2012. Crossing my fingers that I can preempt any further issues and NOT have to drop tons of money into the Chrysler blender.
  • Study abroad. Currently, I’m hooked on the idea of going to Italy in June. I’d be certified in conflict resolution (which what my degree focus is in) and… well, go to Italy as a tourist and student. What more could I ask for? I am required by ISCOR to study abroad to graduate. Aside from the cost, I have no qualms with that.
  • Find an internship. Also needed in order to graduate, and it’d be great to start building some experience in my field (foreign diplomacy). We’ll see what I can dig up.
  • Create a stable savings and keep it filled. I’ve gotten into the rotten habit of digging into my savings whenever I’ve been spending too much and too often. I need to start dumping some of my paycheck into my savings so that I actually, you know, have money to fall back on in hard times (that isn’t my parents’). Probably will come into play after studying abroad in the summer, but I do need to save for that as well.
  • Get below 200 lbs. I’ve been floating around 215-220 for quite awhile. Time to get in shape!
  • Be awesome.
  • Post on my blog more often?

Here’s to 2013 and that whole being awesome thing.

Posted in: Driving, Life, Money, School, Work